First Snow

Warning: Sappy post and cute pictures below!

Last Saturday was basically like a a Christmas movie. We woke up to our first beautiful blanket of snow on the ground. I wanted to try this Austrian coffee/tea shop near us called Julius Meinl, so we hopped on a short bus ride and had a really good brunch. Best tea period. Try it, seriously.

We ended up walking home through the shops in Lincoln Square, were we saw an artist carving out these festive ice sculptures and I picked up a Charley Harper puzzle.

Carolers were singing and even Rahm Emanuel made a stop, although we missed him.



(Cute overload, right?)

And if the snow and Christmas ambiance were not enough, our park was turned into the bunny slopes (slightly random, no?) and we got our first real Christmas tree straight from the Upper Peninsula.

………………………………………………………………

And now to pop my Holiday Bliss Bubble: Sunday totally sucked when the boy was back to studying non-stop for finals and I took off for a new Target with a bus transfer. If you know me, I’m horrible at directions and got all sorts of turned around (even with GPS!) when it was 18 degrees in a neighborhood I didn’t know, on foot. And that snow? Yeah, it turned to ice and I fell flat on my right knee if front of strangers. Of course, I thought.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “First Snow”

  1. MHB Gift Guide {2010 Style} « My Heart Behaves Says:

    […] Looking back at last year’s loot, I was really into bright colors, while this year everything is a bit more into (dare I even say it?) pastel. Let’s blame in on all the snow and gray skies this winter. […]

Leave a Reply

