Chicken and wild rice soup

I’m going to be honest, I made this chicken and wild rice soup this week and it was just okay. I’m really only sharing because I took the picture and thought it was pretty. The soup … it was pretty blah. Being from Texas, I really like things spicy. Not spicy hot, but with lots of flavor. I know now how to make it better for the next go around, so this is the improved recipe.

Ingredients
1 package (6 ounces) long-grain and wild rice mix. I used Trader’s Joe’s, but I think Uncle Ben’s is better. (Sorry!)
1 cup boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, chopped
2 cups (8 ounces) sliced fresh mushrooms
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 cup carrots, chopped
8 cups (14.5 ounces each) chicken broth (I used mine from the chicken I boiled. Way better than canned.)
1/2 teaspoon dried tarragon, crushed
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme, crushed
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
3 tablespoons cornstarch

Directions
Heat vegetable oil in large saucepan. Add chicken, mushrooms, chopped onion and garlic; cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 to 8 minutes or until vegetables are tender and chicken is no longer pink. Add rice, broth, tarragon, thyme, salt and pepper and cornstach; bring to a boil, then simmer.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

