Desk Chair

Sometimes things are just meant to be, like when I found this chair sitting next to the garbage in our alley way.

Patricia fabric, Ikea fabric, before and after chair
……………………………………………………………………………………………

I didn’t think much of it until we went to CB2 and got Dan a new desk for studying. We started sharing the one sad office chair I currently use (and more importantly hate!) and it got me thinking about the chair in the alley … and its possibilities.

So I swiftly grabbed it Saturday morning, and snuck into our basement where everyone does laundry. In there, I knew I had spotted what I’ll call the “community” paint from someone’s left-overs.

Yeehaw y’all, time to get to work!

Patricia fabric, Ikea fabric, before and after chair

I used some of the Patricia fabric I had on hand and went to town. (Remember this creation? I still wear is all the time. I just can’t get enough of the discontinued fabric from Ikea.)

Patricia fabric, Ikea fabric, before and after chair

In the end, it only took about three hours total, between lunch and AC breaks. There’s no air conditioner in the kitchen and it got up to almost 90 degrees this weekend, so it would get pretty warm in there.

Patricia fabric, Ikea fabric, before and after chair

BREAKDOWN
Chair: Free from the alley gods
Paint: “Community” Behr Paint, found in basement
Brushes: Already owned
Fabric: Patricia by Ikea ($9 per yard)
________________

Total cost: $9.

The best part is that we each have a chair since he can use my old one (planned that well, didn’t I?) and I got the something pretty chic to sit my booty on.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Desk Chair”

  1. Ivana | Love Ardently Says:

    oh woww! good job kristina! this is pretty!

Leave a Reply

