The whitest tree you know.

Can I just start by saying how hard it is to photograph a white Christmas tree in a dark living room? Yowzas!

Anywho, I wanted to share how I decorated my 4-foot-tall tree with you for only $17.50. (I’m cheap and I like to brag about my thriftiness, what can I say?)

2009 is is kind of nature themed, I suppose, with teals and browns, a ton of pine cones and a bird on top. Clearly all things that can be found in a forest, right? Well maybe not the shimmery peacock!

This year, I pulled my resources and used two different shades of ribbon I already owned as garland and pine cones I’ve been collecting through the years as a basic accent. I only purchased three inexpensive items this year.

Here’s the break down:
1. Flocked with Glitter Pine Cones • 10 for $1/each • Crate&Barrel
2. Holly Berry Stems • 10 for $.25/each • Michael’s
3. Peacock Tree Topper• 1 for $5 • Target

My paper has two options, the plaid you see above, which I snagged a couple of years ago on clearance and a solid teal from Paper Source. I grabbed a ton of super cute ribbon half off at Michael’s. I think I bought six different patterns for under $7. And I’m using the gift tags I designed for Creature Comforts, which you can download here. They add a punch of orange to the whole mix, which I love.

So the holidays this year are super simple, still chic and totally affordable. All good things in my book!

………………………………………………………………….

PS: In the spirit of giving, I encourage you all to visit the Angel Giving Tree or give to a food pantry this season. Don’t know where to start? Click here for more info on the Angels. Everyone needs a little extra help this year. Please give, if at all possible, and change someone’s life.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The whitest tree you know.”

  1. What’s in your tree? « My Heart Behaves Says:

    […] different from last year’s tree, […]

Leave a Reply

