Just chill.

Yowza! It was in the 60s today. No, not the decade, the temperature. It might actually be the beginnings of Fall in Big D. (I’ve been eagerly waiting since last May, quite frankly.)

What do I do when it gets the least bit cool outside? I make chili. Really, is there a better way to warm yourself up? Growing up, my Mom made chili all winter long, along with some other amazing stews that never taste as good when I make them. But the chili? Yeah, I’ve got that down solid.

chili

So if you’re like me, and feeling a little breezy, here’s a great recipe to follow. But before hand, you must do a bit of prep.

1. Open your back door and let the cool air fill your kitchen.
2. Light some candles. A little ambiance never hurt anyone.
3. Turn the iTunes on. Now play some Bowie. Come on, it’ll be fun, I swear. Go for the Greatest Hits if it makes ya feel better.
4. Start cookin’. We’re hungry already!

Rachel Ray’s Ridiculously Easy Vegetarian Chili
(Except I added a meat and three types of beans, so don’t hate me please, Ray Ray.)

Ingredients
• Two 28-ounce cans crushed tomatoes
• Two 28-ounce cans hominy, rinsed
• Three 15-ounce cans of beans, rinsed. I prefer pinto, kidney and red.
• One 4-ounce can chopped green chiles
• Two small zucchinis, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced crosswise
• One onion, chopped
• Three tablespoons chili powder
• One teaspoon ground cumin
• 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

Directions
In an 8-quart stock pot, combine all of the ingredients. Bring to a boil, lower the heat, cover and simmer until the vegetables are soft and the chili has thickened, about 35 minutes.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Just chill.”

  1. Gobble, Gobble « my heart behaves Says:

    […] I started craving my annual chili, but this time I tried a new turkey chili recipe. It was REALLY good. The best I’ve made, in […]

  2. King Ranch Casserole « my heart behaves Says:

    […] as these go-to staple foods: ice cream (so, so good when it’s freezing outside), my famous chili and the King Ranch […]

  3. Ivana | Love Ardently Says:

    Looks yummy! Never had of chili with hominy. Shall try this recipe!

  4. Erin Says:

    mmmm…sounds yummy! my mother-in-law gave me her great chili recipe, but I’m always up for a new one! The hominy intrigues me…

Leave a Reply

