Whoever invented this was a genius.

Several friends and I celebrated a faux Cinco de Mayo with a Mexican feast over at Tara and Kyle’s this weekend. I brought the guacamole, a staple for any and all things Mexican, and a little something called the Cheesecake Sopapilla.

I’m a cheesecake fanatic and cinnamon toast enthusiast. I admit it. So when I tried a bite from coworker a few months back, I knew my world had changed. It’s sinfully delish and I thought I’d share the recipe. I tried my hardest to make it as low fat as possible, and I swear, you can’t taste the difference.

Put it on a cute platter, take it to a friend and enjoy!

cheesecake sopapillas

INGREDIENTS:
• 2 (8 ounce) packages fat free cream cheese
• 2 (8 ounce) packages refrigerated low fat crescent dinner rolls
• 1 cup sugar
• 1 teaspoon vanilla extract or almond extract
• 1/2 cup Land O’Lakes Light Butter with Canola Oil (or any kind of margarine or butter) melted
• 1/2 cup cinnamon sugar

DIRECTIONS:
1. Using a 9 x 13 baking pan, unroll one package of refrigerated crescent rolls and line the bottom of the pan.
2. Mix together the cream cheese, sugar and extract with a mixer, until creamy.
3. Spread over the crescent rolls.
4. Unroll the other can of crescent rolls and place on top of cream cheese mixture.
5. Pour melted butter over the top and sprinkle with about 1/2 cup of the cinnamon sugar mixture.
6. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Whoever invented this was a genius.”

  1. Diane Says:

    These were wonderful! Loved them!

  2. Kristina Says:

    No sopapillas in Cali? That truly is a travesty. But I’m jealous of the avocado that is on everything!!!!

  3. donkeyfunny Says:

    I am all caught up on blog reading! I LOVE the plates on the wall. I have been collecting plates for just the thing. I adore the ring. And… did you know they don’t have sopapillas out here in crazy CA? It’s a travesty I have been ranting about in the field for a while.

Leave a Reply

