LA … my way

Los Angeles is a unique city, to say the least. It’s got some pretty funky and artistic neighborhoods. But of course, those are hidden beneath layers vanity and bling.

But with it’s fabulous weather and never-ending clear blue skies, it’s easy to see why so many people flock to it. I recently did a long weekend with my good friend Chance, where we got to do a bit of shopping, sight-seeing and catching up with several friends.

We stayed at the Avalon Hotel, a swanky little Mid Century Modern boutique in the heart of Beverly Hills. I have to admit, I never took a single picture of the room, (woopsies!) so I ended up grabbing a few of the internets. (Unrelated, it turns out it’s quite a celeb spotting. Google it! Who knew?!)

avalonrenovateIsn’t the sign the CUTEST thing you’ve ever seen? It makes me smile. :)

avalon-2The rooms were filled with tons of great MCM finds and replicas. I personally loved the super-thick duvet on the bed. It get’s really chilly there at night.

the-other-side-of-theI really dug the stripped carpet. It pulled all of the colors from the walls and decor. Clever.

dsc01054We got really, really high into the Hollywood Hills. The homes are amazing. But the view? Priceless.

dsc01106The freakin Pacific Design Center, in all her glory!
PS: Love the use of Helvetica!

img_4043Fisherpeople (is that a word?) at sunset in Santa Monica. This was my favorite part of the trip …

dsc01085This was the most amazing cake I’ve had in my life. At The Abbey.

img_4141This is one of many murals by some of the local artists in Silver Lake. It’s a tribute to Bingo, the shop dog at Pull My Daisy. I got the sweetest little bird-shaped pillow, created by Social Studies Designs, there. Sweet!

img_4225We hit up the Farmer’s Market, with one of my oldest friends, Monica.

img_4227Reason number one to move to LA: avocado came on everything we ate!

dsc01098Don’t you just love this gray house, with yellow trim, in West Hollywood?

img_4279Right before we caught the jet home, we visited Greystone Mansion. Totally worth the stop!

img_4273

img_4294

img_4308When I grow older, I want to be just like the ladies and play games in the garden on a lazy Monday. That’s the life!

rock-and-lizChance and I posing at Rock Hudson and Elizabeth Taylor. (And yes, I’m owning the typical touristy pic at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre. We even asked someone to take it!)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “LA … my way”

  1. Stephanie Post Says:

    I love the picture of you in front of Rock and Elizabeth’s prints! I would unapologetically GEEK out if I were ever to visit there. Looks like fun! You guys have the only picture I can find of someone actually posing with Rock’s prints – you obviously have good taste ;)

  2. TOMS « my heart behaves Says:

    […] 11, 2009 When I was in LA a few months ago, TOMS were everywhere. I mean, to the extent that my friend Chance and I had many […]

  3. donkeyfunny Says:

    Dang. You were right by me! I think LA is a fun place to visit.. but not for living. Oh well. I do what I have to do. Can I have an old lady day, right now? seriously…

    • myheartbehaves Says:

      A- which neighborhood are you in? We visited friends in almost all of them, but Los Feliz is my fav! It had trees and the best little brunch place … Figaro Cafe or something to that effect.

  4. How I Lost Thirty Pounds in Thirty Days Says:

    Hi, interesting post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for sharing. I will certainly be coming back to your site.

  5. sheron kelm Says:

    Looks like a fun trip! I want to go someday myself… Maybe when G is five:)

  6. LA … my way Says:

    […] Original post by myheartbehaves […]

Leave a Reply

