Vintage Appeal

dsc02381

Last weekend, Daniel and I spontaneously swung over to Buchanan’s Flea Market, where they have a monthly event that happens in an empty warehouse within Fair Park. I didn’t even know it ever existed until recently, when the Dallas Morning News wrote a small blurb about it last month. (Note to self: Google Reader, you rock!)

It was a hidden surprise and a great afternoon. However, as I alluded to earlier, it was totally on the fly and we had a mere $10 with us, so after browsing through a ton of what some might consider junk and things I consider treasures, I only ended up with an old NIXON bumper sticker from one of his presidential campaigns. I would have loved to get just about everything in the warehouse, but alas, these are simple people, who don’t accept the plastic. Next time!

dsc02401
I just love all of the colors on these old faucet handles.

dsc02395
A woman was selling rows and rows of beads. Are these vintage, though? I’m leaning towards a no …

While nearing the end of our journey, there was one booth was that was quite intriguing. You all know that I have an obsession with posters … well this guy was selling all of the SUPER sweet vintage posters that were in great shape. However, they were all in the $100 to $200 range, and with tough times like these, that’s currently out of the Kristina Budget of 2009.

Here are a few of my favorites:
dsc02384
Check out the cutesy Esquire poster … this was probably my favorite!

dsc02383
I love the use of orange and cyan in this poster. How very STUDIO 67!

And Daniel really enjoyed this one:
dsc02385

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Vintage Appeal”

  1. DONKEYFUNNY Says:

    I am SO going to this next time I am in town!!!

  2. raquel Says:

    hey. we were supposed to visit this place. boo on you and daniel.

  3. Erin Says:

    SHUT UP! I never knew this existed either! Thanks for sharing about it – I can’t wait to try to go next month. :)

Leave a Reply

