before & after: I love lamp.

beforeafter-header

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m on a redecorating kick. I’ve really been enjoying it. (Especially in the bedroom, for some reason.) It feels nice to have new things and a weight being lifted, as the old leaves ship. Maybe it’s a cleansing or something, or maybe I’m just a shopping addict. Quite frankly, tt’s most likely the latter. :)

Well, it turns out redecorating is expensive!

And in these economic times (and I mean literally I’ve been quite affected) I’m on a bigger budget than I’ve realized. So I’m being resourceful and getting tips from my favorite blogs like Apartment Therapy, Design*Sponge, Making It Lovely and my favorite, Door Sixteen.

These ladies can often transform something ordinary into something quite unique. And it reminds me of how creative I was back in my high school and college days, where Grandma would give me some ’80s gold-leafed candlestick holder and I would go to town and paint it some funky color with my leftovers from art class.

In any case, I was at the store and wondered into the paint aisle, where all of the pretty colors seemed so appealing. Just as I thought, “I want to go to there,” I ended up with these in my basket:

img_0410

Later in the day, I was trying to figure out what to do with them while taking Oliver out for a quick walk and found some ’80s gold-leafed lamp and thought, “Um … destiny!”

img_0399

I grabbed the Blue Ocean Breeze spray paint, which I’ve classically dubbed ‘Tiffany Blue,’ as it goes quite well with my new duvet cover I picked up at Ikea a month or some ago. I even found a random box by the trash shoot (also Ikea … weird!) and used it to cover my patio furniture as I painted away.

img_0402

I ended up with this:

img_0406Half way there.

img_0442Done and done!

The shade is from another lamp I had on the nightstand and isn’t really what I want to use, but it will do for now. You also might notice that I broke down and bought four Orla Kiely Coasters, because darlings, no matter how messy I can be, “Coaster Rule” is always in effect at Kristina’s casa.

Peace and love!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “before & after: I love lamp.”

  1. bethany Says:

    Confession: There are at least 3 cans of Blue Ocean Breeze in my apartment. Three because I always wind up picking up a new can whenever I redecorate “just incase”!

    A can of BOB is a necessity for any redecorating kick :) The lamp looks totally stellar!

  2. uzgtger Says:

    8Wtriz qawnzqdioche, [url=http://ggicyahodcys.com/]ggicyahodcys[/url], [link=http://lgpwomnerzyf.com/]lgpwomnerzyf[/link], http://etuspxidwyji.com/

  3. Donkeyfunny Says:

    I love it!!!! You might have inspired me. Hmmm.

  4. Topics about Pets and Life with animals » before #038; after: I love lamp. Says:

    […] Inishindie added an interesting post on before #038; after: I love lamp.Here’s a small excerptAs I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m on a redecorating kick. I’ve really been enjoying it. […]

  5. Topics about Dogs and Life with Pets » before #038; after: I love lamp. Says:

    […] Inishindie added an interesting post today on before #038; after: I love lamp.Here’s a small readingAs I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m on a redecorating kick. I’ve really been enjoying it. […]

  6. gbglass Says:

    Wow, that came out so well! Now you make me want to go to the paint isle!

Leave a Reply

