Burnin’ down the house

Lately, my days have been filled with working at the paper 9 to 5, coming home to take Oliver out on a brief walk and do freelance work until midnight or later. Somewhere in between, I’m stuffing food into my mouth, thinking about what to blog on and watching reruns on Friends and Sex and the City. Needless to say, I’m exhausted. I can’t wait until Alyssa and I can open up the shop (tentatively called BumpIt) and just work on what we love. Until then, it’s all work, work, work.

So when my alarm goes off this morning at 7:06, I eagerly hit the snooze button, in an attempt to sleep just a wee bit more. That is, until at 7:19, when the fire alarms in my apartment and hallways start blaring. Let me tell you, an ear-piercing alarm while you are asleep is not too much fun to wake up too.

So being the Be Calm and Carry On type of gal I am, I don’t panic … simply thinking that someone has tripped the alarms by accident and lazily try to drift back to sleep. It get’s slightly fuzzy after that, when I suddenly here a gaggle of fire trucks, police cars and ambulances pull up.

Crap! I’m gathering that there must be some real fire and I quickly jump up evaluate my options. At this point, the alarms must have been going for 15 minutes.

The pattern on the firemen's boots in the dust.

The pattern on the fireman's boots in the dust.

Then I hear the firemen make their way to my floor, ordering one another around in Fireman Talk, just as I’m looking out into the peep hole. I see a cloud of smoke and panic hits me hard. My apartments are on fire and I have NO CLUE what to do. The alarm is so loud, it’s making me dizzy and Spencer and Oliver just want to hide under the bed. I start to put something decent on, put Oli on a leash and in my panicky state, can’t find that Cat Taxi. So I grab Spenc and we’re in the hallway. It’s been about 20 minutes at this point.

The hallway, filled with smoke. (It's kinda hard to see.) The double doors automatically shut when the alarms sound.

The hallway, filled with smoke. (It's kinda hard to see.) The double doors automatically shut when the alarms sound.

There’s the weirdest smell and taste in my mouth immediately and I gag. I had to breath through my scarf. We are making our way down the stairs, where I see no one. Eventually we all get outside and stand with the other people in their robes, with their children and pets. They look at me funny and ask if I’m just now leaving my apartment.

I have to admit, I’m always in such denial. Like the fact that I don’t believe in tornadoes (I know), I just don’t think that I’m ever going to be affected by a fire. I shyly say yes and mumble something about being asleep. I don’t think they bought it, but I digress. I simply don’t have time to care what others think anymore.

I’m just not a person to freak out, ever really.

The alarm eventually goes off, we all kind of shrug at one another and it’s back to reality: I have to rush to get ready for work if I don’t want to be an hour late. Unfortunately, the hallways are now covered in this fine dust from what must be something like fire extinguisher stuff. It was crazy ya’ll, just not the good crazy.

More dust, leading to the elevator and staircase.

More dust, leading to the elevator and staircase.

My feet in the dust.

My feet in the dust.

3 Responses to “Burnin’ down the house”

  1. Diane Says:

    Ummm, when did this happen?

  2. Apes Says:

    NERD! Glad you are okay!!!

Leave a Reply

