Let them eat {crab} cake!

I’m not one to cook often. I’m simply not good at it and what I do cook, I tend to make over and over and over again. But because of this fact, I’ve fine-tuned what I prepare and it can come out pretty good … um, most of the time.

I decided despite the fact that I’m solo, it is not going to stop me from making dinner for myself anymore. It tends to be healthier, tastier and less expensive than rocking the prepared foods from the Chef’s Case at Central Market. One of many resolutions, I planned to branch out this year and learn the art of the kitchen, trying my hand at more gourmet meals, rather than instant rice from an Uncle Ben’s box and baked chicken. (Seriously, I’ve probably made this dish hundreds or times.)

However, I whipped up a Kristina Klassic, despite all my grand ideas and thoughts, this evening. An oldie, but a goodie!

Crab Cakes
1 lb. crab meat
1 c. dry bread crumbs
1 egg, slightly beaten
1 c. mayonnaise
Lemon Pepper and Parsley, to taste

Combine crab meat, egg, mayo and spices. Mix half cup of bread crumbs, then form five to six cakes. Cover each side with remaining bread crumbs and chill for 15 minutes, until hard. Heat a small amount of heart-healthy veggie oil in pan and place cakes in pan, flipping once after seven minutes or until brown. They are the best! I always combine mine with Uncle Ben’s Long Grain and Wild, made with chicken stock.

Humble beginnings.

Humble beginnings.

The crab, after adding the egg, mayo, lemon pepper and parsley.

The crab, after adding the egg, mayo, lemon pepper and parsley.

The cakes, before being chilled.

The cakes, chilled.

Before the flip!

Before the flip!

After the flip!

After the flip!

crab cakes before they hit my tummy.

Simple and scrumptious: crab cakes before they hit my tummy.

PS: I apologize for my very blurry photography skillzzzz. I tend to just grab my iPhone to snap pics, but it’s not exactly known for having an awesome camera. I’ve decided to go back to my Kodak, after cringing at all of the fuzzies!

4 Responses to “Let them eat {crab} cake!”

  1. Diane Says:

    Ummmm, you know crab cakes is one of my many many favorites!

  2. alymead Says:

    I like pictures… I have a wordpress now too, although I haven’t done anything with it yet.

Leave a Reply

