Coffee Filter Light Fixture

Hello free stuff! I literally saw my neighbor throwing out an old floor lamp and grabbed the yucky shade as soon as her back door shut. I realize that this points out the obvious, that I have no life. Sigh …

When I brought it in, I knew I wanted to use it in the bedroom, where we’ve been staring at a bare bulb on the ceiling forever. I’ve seen the whole coffee filter light fixtures floating around online and decided to go that direction, instead of recovering it in amother fabric. My logic? I thought this would be easier.

Well that’s where I was wrong.

I just dove straight in with no directions. About a third of the way through, I saw my errors, but there was little I could do about it at that point. To make a long story shorter, I should have placed the filters much, much closer together. But after spending hours getting high off of Mod Podge gluing around 200 filters onto the shade, I called it quits. I hung the whole thing up with a clip on bulb adapter.

I figure if I really, really care (and right now I soooooo don’t) I can go back and add about another 200 filters and make it look really fancy and full like this awesome one. And probably a light diffuser, if I’m to be completely honest.

It’s giant, boyfriend approved and peeks out at you anytime you pass the door way. Me loves.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Coffee Filter Light Fixture”

  1. Robert Says:

    Definitely a giant step up from the bare bulb. It looks pretty good the way it turned out!

  2. Ana@Rearranged Design Says:

    Gorgeous! I’d love it if you shared some instructions.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

